The Australian Newspaper: Such a Teese

THE BUZZ, Such a Teese
by Damien Woolnough for The Australian
March 06, 2013

Dita Von Teese in Von Follies.

With her latest collection of lingerie now on the racks in Target and a fleeting visit to our shores last week to spruik Cointreau, Dita Von Teese admits to a mutual fascination with Australians.

“I’ve not yet met an Australian I didn’t like,” Von Teese says.

In fact, most of her fashion collaborations so far have been with local firms. She previously produced a range of cardigans with Wheels & Dollbaby, while her range of dresses and coats, Dita Von Teese Muse, and the Von Follies by Dita Von Teese lingerie line, are in collaboration with Melbourne firm Lime Door Brands, with the lingerie initially stocked exclusively by Target Australia before its global expansion. “I just like to think the Australians really believe in me,” she says. “I have no other explanation for it. For some reason I work with all Australian companies and German companies (for perfumes). There’s something about the Australians and Germans, they’re like my cheerleaders, I guess.”

Von Teese is notoriously hands-on with everything, from doing her own hair & make-up for performances to her collaborations; for last year’s Von Follies debut at the L’Or aacal Melbourne Fashion Festival, she styled the show herself, using her own collection of props for all the models, whom she also cast herself.

“I remember last year having my tarot read and the same cards kept coming up. She said, ‘It’s about delegating, you need to start delegating’ … It’s something I have had to learn to do more. It’s helping … but I feel guilty.”

Leave a Reply

