House of Blues Las Vegas: Dita Von Teese’s Spotify Top Ten

House of Blues Las Vegas: Dita Von Teese’s Spotify Top Ten
May 7, 2012

Burlesque vixen Dita Von Teese made a Spotify “top 10″ playlist just for us! Stream it below, then grab tickets to see her new show here May 17-19: http://bit.ly/IUNTvK

Here’s what Dita had to say about why she chose each of these songs:

Juliette Gréco – Strip-Tease: “This is a song that Jean-Paul Gaultier turned me onto when I performed as a part of his haute couture show in Paris last year, stripteasing from a diaphanous gown down to an intricately beaded corset. I took time to translate the lyrics, which are fantastic!”

Juliette Gréco – Deshabillez-moi: “This is my other favorite Juliette Greco song, also a perfect striptease tune.”

Mae West – A Guy What Takes His Time: “I absolutely love Mae West, I read everything I can about her. She was a genius, and wrote every line she ever spoke onstage or in a film. This is a song she performed in both a film and onstage. This is my favorite arrangement of it, and in 2009 I recorded my own version of it for my appearance at The Crazy Horse in Paris. I’m performing it in Strip Strip Hooray! with my martini glass.”

Peggy Lee – Is That All There Is?: “I love this Peggy Lee song so much. The fantastic play “Sleep No More” which I guest-starred at in New York has two wonderful moments set to different versions on this song. I listen to it all the time.”

Amy Winehouse – Me and Mr. Jones: “I was crazy about Amy, both as a person and as a singer, and I consider her to be the closest thing we will ever have to Billie Holiday. I listen to every single song she’s ever recorded on a regular basis.”

Monarchy – I Won’t Let Go: “Monarchy is one of my favorite modern bands, I can listen to their album Around The Sun completely through and enjoy every second of it!”

The Presets – The Girl and The Sea: “The Presets are another one of my favorite modern bands, and this song is one of their best.”

Junior Boys – Parallel Lines: “This is another one of my favorite electro bands.”

The Cure – Letter to Elise: “I’m absolutely crazy for The Cure, so it was hard to choose just one song but I remember seeing them play this song live and decided then and there that they were the best band in the world to see live.”

The Stooges – Dirt (take2): “In my opinion, one of the sexiest, raunchiest songs ever recorded.”

Dita Von Teese Playlist!
open.spotify.com
Dita Von Teese Playlist!, a playlist by hoblv on Spotify.



Leave a Reply

